#### MINUTES

# CONFERENCE FOURTEEN ("SANTA CLARA CONFERENCE") NORTHERN CALIFORNIA-NORTHERN NEVADA SYNOD EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN AMERICA

#### ORGANIZING ASSEMBLY

Sunny View Lutheran Home Cupertino, California

February 7, 1988

# CALL TO ORDER

Co-Convener Rev. William Kees, appointed by the NCNN Synod Council, welcomed ordained minister delegates, voting lay delegates representing the twenty-two congregations of Conference Fourteen, and visitors to the Organizing Assembly of the Conference and led in the singing of "Come Share the Spirit."

Dos. Andrea Arnold and Pr. Susan Kirlin-Hackett led a period of community building which consisted of a "Rainbow Dialogue" built on 1 Corinthians 12 that encouraged discussion in small groups about why and how the congregations of the Conference need each other.

# WORSHIP

Rev. Robert Andersen and Ms. Anne Carlson led "The Eucharistic Liturgy of Lima." The Rev. Noreen Meginnes, NCNN Associate to the Bishop, served as preacher.

# GROUND RULES

Rev. Meginnes explained election and voting procedures. One lay male and one lay female delegate from each congregation and all ordained ministers under call in the Conference were eligible to vote. Because of the unclear status and number of associates in ministry in the Conference, it was agreed that any present would not be permitted to vote. Retired ordained ministers would not be permitted to vote or be elected to any office.

#### CONFERENCE DESIGN

The "Design of the Santa Clara Conference" was adopted as presented with the provision that it would be reviewed by the newly elected cabinet of the Conference and revisions presented for approval at the next Assembly.

# ELECTIONS

#### 1. Dean

The following persons were nominated as Dean of the Conference by ecclesiastical ballot: Rev. Richard Anderson, Rev. David Baker, Rev. William Gutknecht, Rev. Susan Kirlin-Hackett, Rev. William Kirlin-Hackett, Rev. Eugene Jewell, and Rev. William Kees. On the third subsequent ballot, Rev. Kees was elected Dean.

## 2. Secretary/Treasurer

The following persons were nominated as Secretary/Treasurer of the Conference by ecclesiastical ballot: Rev. Richard Anderson, Rev. David Baker, Ms. Gloria Baker, Rev. Gary Berkland, Ms. Ann Carlson, Ms. Sherri-Delvin, Ms. Karen Idler, Rev. Eugene Jewell, Rev. Susan Kirlin-Hackett, Rev. William Kirlin-Hackett, Ms. Kaye Kuhlmann, Rev. Jäck Lundin, Ms. Elizabeth Meier, Mr. Douglas Oakman, Rev. Michael Rehak, Ms. Virginia Sleloff, Rev. Debra Slifer, Rev. John Sullivan, Mr. Eric Walbolt, Mr. Richard Wentzel, Ms. Marlan Zielske, and Rev. Ronald Zielske. On the fifth subsequent ballot, Ms. Carlson was elected Secretary/Teasurer.

# 3. Commission on Congregational Life

The following persons were nominated as members of the Conference Commission on Congregational Life: (a) clergy: Rev. Debra Slifer; (b) lay-male: Mr. Tomas Hogel; (c) lay-female: Ms. Karen Idler and Ms. Nancy Nielsen. Rev. Slifer, Mr. Hogel, and Ms. Idler were elected members of the Commission.

# 4. Commission on Mission

The following persons were nominated as members of the Conference Commission on Mission: (a) clergy: Rev. William Kirlin-Hackett and Rev. David Place; (b) lay-male: Mr. Paul Kellenberg; (c) lay-female: Ms. Greta Heinemeier, Ms. Willy McDowell, and Ms. Connie Olson. Rev. Kirlin-Hackett, Mr. Kellenberg, and Ms. McDowell were elected members of the Commission.

#### 5. Commission on Ministry

The following persons were nominated as members of the Conference Commission on Ministry: (a) clergy: Rev. Robert Andersen and Rev. Eugene Jewell; (b) clergy: Rev. James Friedrich and Rev. Craig Geiger; (c) lay-female: Ms. Sheri Delvin and Ms. Brenda Schmahl. Rev. Jewell, Rev. Friedrich, and Ms. Delvin were elected members of the Commission.

#### 6. Nominations for Churchwide Assembly Delegates

The following persons were nominated to be Conference Nominees for the position of member of the NCNN Synod delegation to the 1989 Churchwide Assembly from Electoral District D in the election to be held at the 1988 Synod Assembly: (a) clergy: Rev. Daniel Lindstrom, Rev. Jack Lundin, Rev. Peter Nunn, Rev. Debra Slifer; (b) lay-male: Mr. Rudolph Griffin, Mr. Mark Linder, Mr. Robert Meis, and Mr. James Reyer; (c) lay-female: Ms. Gloria Baker, Ms. Karen Idler, Ms. Kaye Kuhlmann, and Ms. Elizabeth Meier. Rev. Lindstrom, Mr. Linder, and Ms. Kuhlmann were elected as Conference Nominees.

## 7. Nominee for Synod Council

The following persons were nominated to be the Conference Nominee for the position on the NCNN Synod Council from Electoral District D in the election to be held at the 1988 Synod Assembly: (a) lay-female: Ms. Gloria Baker and Ms. Elizabeth Meier. Ms. Meier was elected as the Conference Nominee.

## MULTI-MEDIA PRESENTATION

Slides and a script describing present ministries of and challenges to the congregations of the Conference was presented by Rev. John Sullivan.

#### CONFERENCE VISION

Rev. James Friedrich led a discussion on "Visioning" intended "to help the Conference Cabinet identify issues, needs and directions for the church in the 1990's." The following surfaced:

- The need to witness to persons of the "science world" in the technological area in which we live.
- The need to give evidence that the church is open to all, especially the unchurched.
- The need to integrate spirituality and justice.
- The need to make a place of belonging for young adults.
- The need to add new forms to current worship styles without compromising the Gospel.
- The need to serve the homeless and others in need in our communities.
- The need to maintain church "Integrety" while encouraging openness to all.
- The need to highlight and unify around ministries that are already being done together.
- The need to meet the needs of the aging population, especially in the area of housing.
- The need to establish "partnering" between small and large congregations.
- The need to develop inroads into the Asian population.
- The need to develop Conference-wide concern for inactive members.
- The need to provide career support networking for people out of work.
- The need to develop positive ecumenical relationships.
- The need to organize an Easter sunrise celebration at Flint Center.

# DINNER AND INSTALLATION

NCNN Synod Vice President Kaye Kuhimann installed the officers and members of the Conference Cabinet at a meal provided by the host of the Assembly, Sunny View Lutheran Home.

Respectfully Submitted, -

C. Daniel Lindstrom, Secretary Pro Temp